New Laws for Domestic Employees
Nov 05, 2013
- New Overtime Laws: In a significant change to California law, most domestic employees (including most nannies and live-in employees) will now be entitled to overtime payments for any hours worked in excess of nine (9) in any one workday. Weekly overtime will also apply for hours worked in excess of forty(40) in any one workweek for live-out employees, or forty-five (45) for live-in employees. This law goes into effect on January 1, 2014.
- Minimum Wage Increase: The state of California will raise its minimum wage to $9.00/hour on July 1, 2014, and then to $10.00/hour on January 1, 2016. Keep in mind, though, that employees are entitled to the highest minimum wage in the jurisdiction in which they provide services, so if you live in a city, such as San Francisco, which has a higher minimum wage than the State of California, you are bound by the city’s minimum wage laws.
Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.